Senate of Pakistan Information

Senate is upper house of Pakistani Parliament as first formed in 1973. The 1970 Assembly framed the 1973 Constitution which was passed on 12th April and promulgated on 14th August 1973. The 1973 Constitution provides for a parliamentary form of Government with a bicameral legislature, comprising of the National Assembly and the Senate. The membership of the Senate, which was originally 45, was raised to 63 in 1977 and to 87 in 1985. The membership of the Senate was raised from 87 to 100 in 2002. 4 Seats of Minorities was included in 2012 .So now total seats of Senate are 104. The Senate is a body which represents the provinces and territories of the country and promotes a feeling of equality, peace and good understanding between them 

Upper House of Pakistan Senate Detail Information

Total Seats 100
General Seats 66
Woman Seats 17
Minority Seats 04
Technocrats 17
Balochistan 23
KPK 23
Punjab 23
Sindh 23
Islamabad 04
Secretariat Islamabad
Chairman Mir Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani
Deputy Chairman Mirza Muhammad Afridi
Leader of House Ishaq Dar
Leader of Opposition Dr. Shehaz Waseem

Information About Senate Upper House Parliament

The main purpose for the creation of the Senate of Pakistan was to give equal representation to all the federating units since the membership of the National Assembly was based on the population of each province. Equal provincial membership in the Senate, thus, balances the provincial inequality in the National Assembly. There are a total of 100 seats in the Upper House of Pakistan parliament . Every province have 23 seats regardless of population , ICT have 4 seats and FATA have 4 seats. In which 4 seats reserves for religious minorities, 17seats for Ulma / Technocrats and 8 seats for women. Senate elections take place in accordance with Article 59 of the Constitution. Each of the four provincial assemblies shall elect in the next Senate election twenty three senators from their respective provinces. The Senate is a permanent legislative body which symbolizes a process of continuity in the national affairs. The term of its members is six years. However, one-half of its members retire every three years.