Punjab Assembly Information

Punjab Provincial Assembly is the elected assembly of Punjab. The Assembly was established under Article 106 of the Constitution of Pakistan. It is located in Lahore. There are three main functions performed by the Assembly viz a viz, legislation, management of public money and policy making. After the first meeting of the Assembly, the members take an oath. The Assembly elects, from amongst its members, a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker. After the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, the Assembly cannot transact any other business unless it elects the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister is elected in a special session, summoned by the Governor of Punjab on a day specified by the President of Pakistan. The Chief Minister obtains vote of confidence from the Assembly within 60 days of assuming office.

Punjab Assembly PPA Detail Information

Total Seats 371
General Seats 297
Woman Seats 66
Minority Seats 08
Secretariat Lahore
Speaker Muhammad Sibtain Khan
Deputy Speaker Wasiq Qayyum Abbasi
Leader of House Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi
Leader of Opposition Mian Muhammad Hamza Shahbaz

Information About Punjab Province

There are a total of 371 seats in the Punjab Assembly Lahore . Of these 297 are filled by direct elections. In addition the reserves 8 seats for religious minorities and 66 seats for women. The term of Provincial Assembly in Pakistan according to Article 107 is five years unless it is sooner dissolved, from the day of its first meeting and stands dissolved at the expiration of its terms. Chief Minister is the Leader of the house and run the province with help of with his cabinet. PPA is abbreviation of Punjab Provincial Assembly.