pakistani website
Information About Gilgit Baltistan Assembly and its members
Gilgit Biltistan
Chief Minister

Gilgit Baltistan Assembly

Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assembly is the elected assembly of Gilgit Baltistan. The Assembly was established 'Gilgit-Baltistan Empowerment and Self-Governance Order 2009'.
After the first meeting of the Assembly, the members take an oath. The Assembly elects, from amongst its members, a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker. After the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, the Assembly cannot transact any other business unless it elects the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister is elected in a special session, summoned by the Governor on a day specified by the President. The Chief Minister obtains vote of confidence from the Assembly within 60 days of assuming office.
The Legislative Assembly shall have powers to make laws on selected 61 subjects. There shall be a Gilgit-Baltistan Consolidated Fund and the annual budget shall be presented to the Assembly and voted upon as per practice in other Provinces in the country.

There are a total of 33 seats in the Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assembly. Of these,24 are filled by direct elections. In addition, the reserves 3 seats for technocrats and 6 seats for women,

 General  Woman Technocrats Total
24 6 3 33


Speaker Fida Muhammad Nashad
Deputy Speaker Jaffarullah Khan


Opposition Leader

Haji Shah Baig


Members of  Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assembly 2015
Former Members of  Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assembly 2009