List of Ex Chief of Army Staff of Pakistan

Complete list of Ex Army Chief of Pakistan army from 1947 today. Detail information name and tenure of all chief of army staff of Pakistan from the independence of Pakistan to the current army chief . General Sir Frank Messervy was the first commander in chief of Pakistan army, and General Qamar Javid Bajwa is the current chief of Army Staff Pakistan . You can find names of all former chief of army staff of Pakistan with their information when they become C-in-C and when they leave the COAS office. General Muhammad Zia ul Haq has the longest tenure as chief of army staff, and Lieutenant General Gul Hassan Khan has the shortest period as a Army chief. After independence of Pakistan Commander in Chief was the highest ranking officer in the Pakistan Army. In 1972 Commander in Chief designation was changed to Chief of Army Staff . General Tikka Khan was the first chief of Army staff.

List of Former Army Chief of Pakistan


No. Name From To
01. General Sir Frank Messervy 15-08-1947 10-02-1948
02. General Sir Douglas Gracey 11-02-1948 16-01-1951
03. General Muhammad Ayub Khan 16-01-1951 26-10-1958
04. General Muhammad Musa Khan 27-10-1958 17-06-1966
05. General Agha Muhammad Yahya Khan 18-06-1966 20-12-1971
06. Lieutenant General Gul Hassan Khan 20-12-1971 02-03-1972
07. General Tikka Khan 03-03-1972 01-03-1976
08. General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq 01-03-1976 17-08-1988
09. General Mirza Aslam Beg 17-08-1988 16-08-1991
10. General Asif Nawaz Janjua 16-08-1991 08-01-1993
11. General Abdul Waheed Kakar 11-01-1993 12-01-1996
12. General Jehangir Karamat 12-01-1996 06-10-1998
13. General Pervez Musharraf 06-10-1998 28-11-2007
14. General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani 29-11-2007 29-11-2013
15 General Raheel Sharif 29-11-2013 29-11-2016
16. General Qamar Javed Bajwa 29-11-2016 Present

Detail of Ex Pakistani Army Chief

Chief of Army Staff is the head of the Pakistan Army. Above we provided the complete name list of all chief of army staff. In this list, we provided the names of all army chief and commander in chief of Pakistan army. From 1947 to 1972 the head of Pakistan Army was commander in chief . Name of Commander in Chief of Pakistan army are General Sir Frank Messervy , General Sir Douglas Gracey , General Muhammad Ayub Khan , General Muhammad Musa Khan , General Agha Muhammad Yahya Khan and Lt General Gul Hassan Khan . Names of Army chief of Pakistan army from 1972 to date are General Tikka Khan, General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq, General Mirza Aslam Baig, General Asif Nawaz Janjua, General Abdul Waheed Kakar, General Jeahangir Karamat, General Parvez Pavaiz Musharraf, General Ishfaq Parvez Kiani , General Raheel Shareef and General Qamar Javed Bajwa.